Ventura Underage DUI Attorney
Call Our DUI Defense Lawyer at (805) 919-8662
California is one of several states with a “zero tolerance”
policy as it relates to underage drinking and driving. If you’re
under the age of 21, you’re not legally permitted to
drive with any alcohol in your system. This means that you can be arrested for DUI even if you are well below
the legal limit for adults.
If you’ve been arrested under suspicion of underage DUI, you could
be facing heavier charges and penalties than adult offenders would face.
At The Law Offices of Robert F. Sommers, our Ventura underage DUI lawyers
believe that a youthful mistake shouldn’t cost you your future.
Our firm has focused solely on DUI cases since 1997, and we have represented
more than 4,000 clients in that time.
Rely on our extensive experience with DUI cases.
Call our firm today at (805) 919-8662 for aggressive representation.
What Are the Charges for Underage DUI?
There are actually a number of potential charges that can be leveled against
you. While some of these charges seem redundant, you will usually be charged
with everything that can possibly apply. Unlike an adult DUI case, where
it can often be argued that the driver was not over the legal limit at
the time of the arrest, underage drivers can be charged for any amount
of alcohol in their system over .01%.
In California, underage drivers can face a variety of DUI charges, including:
- Driving with a BAC of .01% or greater
- Driving with a BAC of .05% or greater
- Driving with BAC of .08% or greater
- Driving while actually impaired by drugs or alcohol
- Possession of alcohol in a vehicle
You only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after your arrest. Call
our Ventura underage DUI attorney immediately so we can handle this for you.
What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI?
The state of California imposes much harsher penalties for a minor DUI
conviction than for an adult over 21. This means that a single mistake
can severely impact your future as you enter adulthood.
For a first-time minor DUI, these penalties can include:
- Steep fines of up to $2600
- Up to six months in jail
- A one-year suspension of your driver’s license
The consequences of a second or third underage DUI are even more severe,
and you’ll usually end up facing additional charges for driving with a
suspended license. When you choose to be represented by our firm, we can help reduce these
penalties or get the charges dismissed altogether.
Trust Our Experienced Team
At the Law Offices of Robert F. Sommers, our Ventura DUI attorney has more
than two decades of experience with DUI cases. To better serve our clients,
Attorney Sommers has remained solely focused on DUI and has more than
4000 cases under his belt. If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you
need a tough and battle-tested advocate on your side.
Time is your enemy following a DUI arrest.
Call our firm as soon as possible at (805) 919-8662.